Palazzo dei Giureconsulti is a fundamental architectonic feature of Via Mercanti the topographical centre of the city in the Middle-Age and the heart of social and economic activities of those days; the palace was commissioned and financed by Pope Pio IV. The building hosted the Nobili Dottori boarding school, which bred senators, judges and governors.
The building was designed by architect Vincenzo Seregni, and the works began in 1562, extending around Torre civica del Broletto, which represented one of the four sides making up Piazza dei Mercanti, the heart of the city life during the Middle-Age, later turned into a street named Via Mercanti. In 1809 the Chamber of Merchants bought the westerly hall, and inaugurated Milan’s first stock exchange. Palazzo dei Giureconsulti was restored between 1872 and 1876, after the creation of Via Carlo Alberto: it became the seat of a bank named Banca Popolare, and a telegraph was installed there.
The Chamber of Commerce bought the entire building at the beginning of the 20th century, after the stock exchange had moved, and turned it into its headquarters (1919 – 1957). The bombings during World War II severely damaged the building, which was entirely restored in 1985 by architects Mezzanotte and Menghi. In 1991, when the works were over, the palace was renamed Palazzo Affari ai Giureconsulti, a structure hosting conventions, exhibition and lectures. Palazzo Giureconsulti is nowadays a prestigious multi-functional centre and it is offered to institutions and companies; it covers a 4000 m2 surface on four floors. On the top floor there’s the Sala Terrazzo, where you’ll appreciate a fascinating view of Duomo and Palazzo Reale.